A Short Introduction

To be honest, I have no idea what to write as my first blog post. It was suggested to me by a colleague to first introduce myself and talk a little bit about my motivations for this blog. I’ll be blunt – I don’t have much. I started this blog on a whim. Devon (Pfaff) was an inspiration to start a forum to discuss topics I feel passionate about. Digging deeper, I had a hard time finding blogs geared towards IR analysts with the same level of data visualization and dialogues as many of my favorite evaluation and data science blogs have. So, I suppose that is my motivation. To provide informal discussions relating to my work as a researcher. It is my hope that this blog will be humorous and serious all at once. After all, what’s IR without a little silliness?

As this is supposed to be an introduction to my person, and a short one at that, I’ll say these things:

  • I love cats
  • I love data analysis and visualization
  • I don’t mind pie charts when they are done tell and correctly (more on this later)
  • I graduated from the middle of nowhere WI and now live in beautiful, politically-criminally unwell Chicagoland
  • I get frustrated working in Cognos often
  • Excel is wonderful tool for those like myself who are in a budget-crunching department and cannot afford Tableau or D3

Until next time,
Julie

4 thoughts on “A Short Introduction

  1. Ahhh….Cognos…I have a love-hate relationship with it. Tee hee…I have to love it but it can frustrate me at times. Although, at other times I’m blown away by what is possible when you push it to the limits.

    Like

Leave a Reply

